> Home Page > Media > USA Climbing News > USA Climbing Announces 2020 Community Award Recipients

USA Climbing Announces 2020 Community Award Recipients

USA Climbing Announces 2020 Community Award Recipients


Salt Lake City, UT, January 20, 2020 - USA Climbing is proud to announce the recipients of the 2020 USA Climbing Community Awards. Originally announced in July 2020, these awards are designed to honor individuals, teams, facilities, and events that stand out in the USA Climbing community each year. Hundreds of nominations were received and reviewed by USA Climbing staff, committee members, and volunteers.

“The Community Award winners are members of our local communities and range from youth competitors to seasoned volunteers,” said Bruce Mitchell, President of USA Climbing’s Board of Directors. “In a year where we faced immense challenges and our community had to come up with creative ways to keep climbing, we are grateful for the continued commitment of our members to push the sport forward.”

Athletes of the Year: Lauren Bair, Ben Hanna, and Ben Mayforth 
Teammate of the Year: Emma Grace Lehmann
Coach of the Year: Ray Ferlazzo
Team of the Year: Team Texas
Event of the Year: Pan-American Championships – Sender One LAX
Gym of the Year: Bend Rock Gym
Routesetter of the Year: Joey Jannsen
Volunteers of the Year: Matt Ornes & Tab Stephens
Distinguished Service Award:Chris Danielson, Patti Rube, and Claudiu Vidulescu

A full description of each award recipient can be found here.

A call for nominations for the 2021 Community Awards will go out in June 2021. For questions, please reach out to Rebecca Ingraham, USA Climbing Education Manager, at Rebecca@usaclimbing.org.  

Founding Partner: